Corporation & Governance

Nescot Further Education Corporation is the governing body of the college. It consists of 17 members, who are drawn from business, the local community, education institutions, students and staff. The Principal of the College is also a member. Further Education corporations are independent institutions, which were set up under the Further and Higher Education Act 1992. You can find the meeting schedule online here. The Corporation works through a number of specialist committees who are delegated by the Corporation to provide detailed scrutiny in particular areas of the College's work. These are Audit Committee, Finance and General Purposes Committee, Curriculum and Quality Committee, Search and Governance Committee and Senior Staff Performance and Remuneration Committee.

Further details of the Corporation Committees are in this section of the website.

Click here for our Annual Reports and Financial Statements

The members of the Corporation are: -

Professor Sam Luke is Chair of the Board of Governors of NESCOT. Professor Luke holds a senior position for a major multi-disciplinary engineering and business consulting company. Sam is also Visiting Professor of Civil Engineering at a Russell Group university. He has over 25 years’ experience in the private sector, having held senior business, technical and commercial management roles. He is passionate about training and mentoring young people and currently mentors 5 people at various stages of their career.

Peter Stamps joined the NESCOT Corporation Board in 2013 was appointed Vice Chair in 2016. A qualified accountant by background, Peter has extensive experience of financial management in the private and public sectors, along with the banking sector and he currently runs his own accountancy and consultancy practice. Peter is the Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee of the Corporation.

Chris Muller has been a member of the NESCOT Corporation since 2011. He is currently Head teacher at a secondary school in Surrey. A classicist by background, Chris has a passion for excellence in education and brings many years’ experience in a number of schools to the College Corporation. Chris is the Chairman of the Curriculum and Quality Committee and is the designated Safeguarding Governor.

Frances Rutter is Chief Executive and Principal of NESCOT and a Governor of the College. She has a degree in law and prior to joining NESCOT was Chief Executive of Epsom and Ewell Borough Council for 8 years and before that was Deputy Chief Executive at Elmbridge Borough Council.

Maureen Kilminster became a Governor at NESCOT in 2016 and is Chair of the Audit Committee. She has 27 years' experience in FE and HE having been Principal at a neighbouring Surrey college until her retirement and before that a Deputy Principal in Sussex. Maureen is an economist by background and started her career in Human Resources before moving in education and training. Maureen lives locally in Ashtead and is a long-standing Rotarian.

Graeme Hodge is the staff governor representing Nescot's support staff since January 2016. Graeme is continuing as a Staff Governor for a second term of office until 31st July 2021. Graeme has worked at Nescot for 26 years having been appointed as a Subject Librarian for the Built Environment back in 1990. Since 1999 he has been Head of Learning Resources and in 2016 also took on the management of Reprography. Graeme studied at the Aberystwyth University and has a degree in Librarianship and History. In 2006 he took part in a Leadership and Management continuing professional development programme and was awarded a Post-Graduate Certificate in Management by the University of Lancaster. Graeme previously worked at Croydon College and South West London College.

Lynn Reddick joined NESCOT Corporation in 2016 and is a member of the Curriculum and Quality Committee. She works as the Head of Learning at an independent specialist college in Surrey that provides learning programmes, supported housing and domiciliary care service for students between the age of 18 and 25 with learning and/or physical impairments. Lynn has 22 years’ experience in FE colleges and Special Educational Needs. Lynn lives locally in Ewell.

Jamie Roberts is the Teaching staff Governor appointed in September 2017. He is Team Leader in the Department of Performing Arts at the College. Jamie's background is Dance and as a tutor and Director he is an associate artist of The New Theatre Royal in Portsmouth and has trained at Trinity Laban, the UK’s only conservatoire of music and contemporary dance, He has had work performed internationally and has worked with acclaimed choreographer Jasmin Vardimon.

Daksin Chandrasekera was elected as a student governor in the autumn term of 2018. Daksin is in his second year at NESCOT and has progressed from BTEC Travel and Tourism level 2 to the BTEC Extended Diploma level 3 in Travel and Tourism. He has lived in Germany and the Czech Republic and speaks German and Sinhalese fluently. Daksin has ambitions to work in the airline industry and travel widely.

Margaret Martin joined the College Governing Body in October 2017 and is a member of Finance and General Purposes Committee. She is an experienced HR professional who runs her own successful company with a focus on outplacement, career counselling, and retirement planning services. Margaret has worked in a number of senior roles with major multi-national businesses and has developed a strong interest in training and development. She also worked with the Prince’s Youth Business Trust earlier in her career. Margaret lives locally and is active in local charitable organisations in Surrey.

Sally Pritchett joined the College Governing Body in October 2017. She co owns and runs a creative communications agency employing 50 people in Surrey, working with a number of well-known multi-national brands having previously worked client-side in the hospitality and catering industry. Sally followed a vocational route from College to university and passionately champions diversity in the workplace, supporting organisations including Young Enterprise and Business Women in Surrey (run by Surrey Chambers).

Liz Lawrence joined NESCOT’s governing body in November 2018. She has a background in local and central government, including working at the Cabinet Office as a senior civil servant. Liz has a strong policy and performance background and is a member of the Audit Committee of NESCOT’s governing body. A local Epsom resident, Liz is a trustee of a number of local charities and is committed to helping young people realise their potential.

Simon Enoch joined NESCOT governing body in November 2018. A solicitor by background, Simon has significant executive-level experience in major international businesses in retail, property and software sectors across the UK, Europe, Australia, Japan and the US. Specialisms include mergers and acquisitions, corporate finance and governance. He has operated as a non-executive director of a UK public company, a UK defined benefit pension scheme and a charity. Simon believes in young people and wants to use his knowledge and skills to support the College.

Vince Romagnuolo joined the governing body in March 2019. He is a project manager by background with over 25 years project management experience gained in financial services, construction, engineering and utilities. Vince lives locally in Ewell.

HE Student Governor - to be elected in September 2019








How to